Flooring Material?

I've done some research on wood flooring material, and I wonder why isn't marine grade plywood used in the floor of RV's? It's weight, and price is only slightly higher and you wouldn't have as many issues as I see it?? So why not?? Especially when the consumer is spending $50,000 - $80,000 on a 5th wheel.:confused:

jbeletti

I can't answer your question. I know that Heartland uses a single sheet of Weyerhaeuser structurwood for the floor levels.

To my knowledge, I've never heard of a Heartland owner's floor rotting due to not being marine grade plywood. I've heard of slide floors and roofs rotting, but not main deck floors.

I am no expert but what I'm suggesting is "perhaps marine grade plywood main flooring is not needed".

RoadJunkie

It seems to me that all RV plywood applications are intended to be dry and thus no need for marine-grade plywood. Problems occur when leaks go undetected and cause deterioration of the plywood over time. At that point, in may take a little longer for marine grade plywood to become deteriorated, but it would still need to be addressed. One exception, that I can think of, is circa 2009 when Heartland was leaving the slide floor edges exposed and modifications were required to keep the plywood edges dry.

jbeletti

It seems to me that all RV plywood applications are intended to be dry and thus no need for marine-grade plywood. Problems occur when leaks go undetected and cause deterioration of the plywood over time. At that point, in may take a little longer for marine grade plywood to become deteriorated, but it would still need to be addressed. One exception, that I can think of, is circa 2009 when Heartland was leaving the slide floor edges exposed and modifications were required to keep the plywood edges dry.

I agree with you Len.