Pulling the trigger. Need advice on PDI timing

SteamboatSailor

Well, after spending the last 2 yrs trying to "figger it out", I'm excited to say we've finally put a deposit on a 2017 Road Warrior 427 that's on an out of state dealer's lot. They are purportedly the #1 RW dealer in the country 3 years running for # of units sold, & I must say they have great pricing, but reading the online reviews of this dealer's service after the sale I must say they are far less than stellar & I'm not expecting much from them after the sale. I'm a real estate broker by profession & have many years experience of dealing with contracts for home purchases & the home inspections that are a normal part of that process. However, this is our first major purchase of a coach from a dealer, so am totally at a loss re: timing of "signing the papers", turning over the check, & the PDI. I've researched this forum for ideas/comments on the PDI, & I'm impressed with the wealth of knowledge that has been shared. A BIG thanks to Oregon_Camper for the excellent PDI list that I've printed & will be taking with us next week when we head to the dealer to finalize the deal. My question to the forum is "what has been your experience & what would you suggest for timing of the PDI vs. signing papers & turning over the $ ?" I'm expecting some push back from dealer if I suggest we go through a 4-8 hr PDI with all systems "charged" before signing the paperwork. Is it too out of line to ask dealer to put a clause in the purchase agreement that the deal will fund after PDI items are repaired? I'm not at all excited about the prospect of finalizing the deal, turning over the $, then doing a PDI & perhaps waiting ????weeks for the dealer to get inspection issues fixed, if at all. I'm sure their motivation for getting PDI items fixed is much higher before they have the $. Your thoughts, suggestions, experiences much appreciated.

Oregon_Camper