Factory Brake controller on GMC 2500HD

Northern Virginia
I will be picking up our new Landmark Augusta sometime later this week (yea!). I am new to 5th wheeling and need help determining the proper trailer gain setting on my factory trailer brake.

My 2008 GMC 2500HD Duramax owners manual states that I need to drive about 20 mph while towing and apply the brakes. I am supposed to set the output gain just under trailer brake lock up. The problem is, the dealer is located on a busy highway and then I have to go straight to the Capital Beltway.

The dry weight of the Landmark is a tad over 12500 lbs and my truck around 6500 lbs.

Can anyone recommend the proper setting until I get a chance to test and properly set it on an isolated road?

I assume I will use the maximum setting of 10.0

Thanks, John

pmmjarrett

Not just tired..... RETIRED!!!
Don't know squat about GM brake controller. My Ford integrated controller always needed to be maxed out no matter what I hauled:confused:

Pulling different trailers everytime I hook up when I hook up to a trailer I get the initial setting in the yard at very slow speeds and fine tune as I go if needed. Realisticly you really can't pull out on the road and start slamming on brakes at 20 mph unless you live out in the boonies but you should be able to get close in the dealers lot in a small space.

Here's how I do it and I'm using a Tekonsha Prodigy for now.
  1. I turn the gain down from it's last setting.
  2. I creep forward engaging the trailer brakes and adjust the gain up until I feel the brakes apply.
  3. Now stopped and holding the trailer brakes on, I ease forward and the trailer brakes should lock and hold the trailer within a few feet.
  4. I now pull forward to about 5 - 10 mph and hit the brakes, you should just barely feel the trailer brakes come on first.
  5. Now I know I am close and feel safe to leave. I adjust slightly at any traffic light I come to on the way to the insterstate as needed.