12 volt DC current

pjmaynar

I have a 2013 Heartland Big Country 3450TS. I just installed (2) 6V Trojan T150 golf cart batteries. I am totally new to the RV world. Yes, I am starting out big. I just purchased a 2016 F350 to pull this bad boy with. So, now that I have it at home and the batteries are finally working correctly, what should I be able to run off the house batteries? Also, what switches do I need to flip in order to get such items to work (i.e. ceiling fan in LR, lights, etc.). Just not familiar with this stuff. Any help for this greenhorn would be very helpful. Thanks in advance to anyone that responds.

danemayer

Hi pjmaynar,

Some things run on 12V DC. Other things run on 120V AC.

The water heater can be run in either mode, when on 12V it uses propane as the main fuel source. If you have a dual mode refrigerator, you can select to run it on 12V with propane, or on AUTO, where it will use 120V AC when plugged into shore power and switch automatically to 12V and propane when you disconnect.

Ceiling lights and bathroom lights, along with exterior lights, are usually 12V DC.

The furnace is 12V DC and propane.

The water pump is 12V DC.

Slides and landing gear are 12V DC.

Exhaust fan in the bathroom and kitchen should be 12V DC.

Air conditioners need 120V AC.

The 4-blade ceiling fan and its light need 120V AC.

Microwave, TV, toaster, coffee pot, hair dryer, washer/dryer and anything plugged into an outlet all need 120V AC.

When you're plugged into shore power at a campground, all of this happens automatically, and the batteries will be recharged automatically.

If your intent is to boondock and use the batteries to power everything including the devices that need 120V AC, you'll need to install an inverter to convert 12V DC to 120V AC. And you'll need a power source to recharge the batteries.

pjmaynar

Dan,