Some boondocking advice needed

Matthias

Fulltimer
Hi everyone,

this weekend I am off to my first boondocking experience in the Tonto National Forest. I have no experience with how to pick a space and what to look for. I read that in most of the National Forest dispersed camping is allowed unless marked otherwise.

Is there anything about picking the right spot that I should be aware of, besides the obvious like slope and drain ditches, etc.? Anything I need to look for?

Do I just take some sideroad and pick a nice area and place my trailer besides the road?

I figure I should take a side road that loops back to the main road so I don't run the risk of having to turn around on some tiny road.

Any other related advice is highly appreciated.

Thanks much,
Matthias

Uncle Rog

Matthias, the basics that we use are find the most level area you can find with as much clear space as possible. When you start setting up tables, chairs, generators etc. things start to get spread out fairly quickly. Besides being a good hiding spot for critters it is a pain in the neck to have to step over a bush or rock every time you go in or out of the trailer. Especially this time of the year I would find the highest elevation I could, and when parking think about having the awning side facing eastward to cut down on the AM sun and PM heat. Also if you know the area or can check it out figure out which way the wind comes from the most, if you have a fire it is a nice thing to have the smoke blowing away from the door! You already have the right idea about having to back up, If you have any doubts at all, walk the road first to be sure you are not headed into a cliff out, or no turn situation. I did that once on the north rim with a Suburban pulling a 24' TT, wasn't pretty, took most of the day to get turned around.....................

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
Another thing to watch closely is overhead branches both on the roads in and your site. Have a great trip!