What Is This? Black Water Tank Flush???

74Beeper

I took possession of my 2009 Razor 3612TS last weekend. I've been going through it and getting familiar with it. This is my first camper and I'm still learning but what is the hose connection on the lower left? (See picture... it uploaded sideways)
I know the upper right hose connection is city water. I hooked it to city water and it flows out of the fuctets. But when I hook to the lower left hose connection, nothing happens. The water just deadheads. I called Heartlannd and they weren't much help. They said it could be a black tank flush but really not sure because they don't keep info on anything this old. (Really?)

I removed the inner panel and followed the line. It's red, goes across to the right side and turns to the rear and that's where I lose it.

If this is a black tank flush, is there another valve that's needs opening that I'm missing? Any help would be greatly appreciated
. IMG_0071.jpg

danemayer

Hi 74Beeper,

That's the black tank flush fitting.

That line goes to an anti-siphon valve that is often located behind the shower. If you have an access panel in the shower, you may be able to see the anti-siphon valve.

The anti-siphon valve is intended to protect the campground water supply. If pressure goes negative while using the black tank flush, in theory, contaminated water could flow backwards to the campground supply. The valve prevents this from happening.

Unfortunately, the valve is made of plastic and occasionally fails. Many owners either remove the valve completely, or may cap the line and use a different method of cleaning the black tank.

If you have an access panel in the shower, take a look behind it. Maybe you'll be able to figure out what's going on.

Btw, take a look at the inside of the cargo door near the Universal Docking Center (UDC). There may be a large label that explains what everything in the UDC does.

Jesstruckn/Jesstalkn