F450 Insurance

Gisela

I am new to this forum as my husband and myself intend to purchase a Cyclone 3914. We live in Alaska and we just purchased a Ford F450 dually diesel in order to be legal. My husband belongs to All state insurance and they can only insure him under commercial use to the tune of $2100 per year and must have a business license in order to pull a recreational vehicle.

My question to everyone is how do you get this truck insured for recreational use? Any help would be appreciated.

Gisela
Alaska, USA

timk

I was looking into a 450, and checked with State Farm, and it was only just a bit more. Something like 1200 a year.

sgtbigb

I am a former Allstate agent, must be Alaska Rules, it should not matter the tonnage if use for personal reasons. I would call Progressive Inasurance!

Gisela

Thanks everyone The first quote we received from All State was over 5,000.00.. I think my husband had a bit of a hick up when he heard that! It just baffles me that they think this rig is strictly commercial and you will need a business license, and we even called them twice thinking the person who was researching this just made a big mistake. We finally called State Farm and they had no problem and it was just over 1200.00 a year. All State just lost a bit of business from us. So the New Ford is now under state farm and the new cyclone will be added when its purchased along with our boats and 2 other vehicles.

Thank you Gisela

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member
A friend of mine has an F650 and had trouble finding private insurance. They couldn't believe a truck like that was not commercial. He finally got his through Progressive and it was very reasonable (can't remember the exact price). You might also check with Foremost. If you are an AARP member you can get Foremost through the AARP website at a very good price.

Insurance

Did you know that most of your insurance companies bases your premiums on your credit report?