Driver Licensing Requirements

rfournelle

Canada-East Region Directors-Retired
Hi everyone!

I just recently purchased a 2009 Bighorn 3055RL. I am new at this and I can't wait to use it.

I have a GM driver's license and the dealer told me that there were no other licensing requirements to tow the trailer. Coincidentally, I have just received my renewal license and noted that it allows for a total weight combination (truck/trailer) of 11,000 kg (~24,000 lbs) with the towed vehicle not being more than 4,600 kg (~10,000 lbs). While the truck and trailer have a total weight of less than 11,000 kg (~24,000 lbs), the trailer weights ~ 6,400 kg (14,000 lbs).

I called the Ontario Ministry of Transportation. They did not sound like they were sure but indicated that I need a class A license, requiring that I pass a vision, knowledge and road tests as well as obtain a medical certificate. I'm not sure I got the right information.

Would someone from Ontario have already gone through this process and be aware of the requirements?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Bob

bigredtruck

License requirements

I know in BC if the trailer is over 10000 pounds, I have to get an endorsement on my license. I'm not sure when the commercial license kicks in - maybe when you have air brakes? DH has his commercial license and our current FW is under 10K pounds but the newer bigger one is off limits for me until I check that out.

wfwilson

Founding Canadian Region Director - Retired
Driver Lic

I don't know how true this info is but I was told locally that as long as it is non commercial and for private use a G license is OK. I have a DM I also contacted the MOT by email. I received a call back and the person did not seem to know what was correct and I am sure the call was so MOT personal were not committed to having said anything and could not be traced.
Not much help but that is what happened to me. My truck as GVW 9900 lbs and the BH 14,400 LBS