1 Local Heartland dealer "can't" fix units not sold by them (so they claim)

NYSUPstater

Have an issue w/ a trim piece on a slide of a 2018 Big Country. Thought it may be just some screws popped out, but upon removing them see they were broken in 1/2, so there is an issue as to why. Anyways, stopped by a recently opened Heartland/Big Country dealer and asked to speak to service dep't. 1st question was, "Did you buy it from us?". They claim that DMV hasn't "issued" them a service license yet so they cannot do any work on units not sold by them. Saying to myself "this is BS", I ask , "So what you're saying is, you can sell units and fix your own units you sell but not those bought from another facility?". The reply, "Yes, that's correct". I'm no expert in DMV law and Lord knows NY has a bunch of weird laws, but I cannot for the life of me see how they can sell units in the 1st place and repair just "their own" as you have to have a DMV license to see anything at all as a dealership. Personally, I feel they just don't want to fix anything not bought from them. Was told that maybe in a month they will have their license. See ya!

Abear79

Which screws? Some are cut flush so when the slide closes they dont hit the seals or camper.

danemayer

Their excuse sounds like it's made up. But RV dealers are not required to do warranty work on units they don't sell. Some will. Some won't. If they're already busy, they're more likely to decline.

Abear79

Wow, Yeah something not lined up are something. You are thinking the screws sheared off in the coach?

sengli