Dangerous Electrical Issue - Cyclone 5th Wheel RV

intored

On a recent 2,500 mile trip between Chicago and Ft Myers, FL we ran into a problem with our running lights not working on half the carriage. Two days of troubleshoot and repair as a result of a electrical short at a steel cross member penetration. As a mechanical engineer I understand product failures are fact of life, however far more care should be exercised when adding a combustible as dangerous as gasoline. There is a very good reason why the automotive industry doesn't use rubber hose from the fuel tank to the pump....as the video link below shows I was very, very lucky!

Last edited:

Lynn1130

We need a little more info on the trailer.

1. What year and model Cyclone?
2. Was it purchased used or new?
3. If used, could this have been a mod by a former owner?
4. If new, and wired and plumbed that way has Heartland been made aware?

This is a concern and if Heartland is sending units or sent units out that way it needs to be rectified by them.

intored

Hi Lynn,
I think this is a 2013, I bought used in 2014. I had no issues with the electric until this year, so this failure happened while I owned it. I am curious however who/when the auto leveling was installed as it looked like this is something added after the coach was finished; is this a OEM addition or dealer installed? However this doesn't change the fact that the fuel lines are not responsibly handled at the OEM level; these should be steel tubing with only rubber hoses at termination points.

szewczyk_john

Thanks for the post. Another issue that I will have to look at next time I have the underbelly opened up. I saw that you have a 2 axle Cyclone but was wondering which model and year yours is?

intored

Thanks for the post. Another issue that I will have to look at next time I have the underbelly opened up. I saw that you have a 2 axle Cyclone but was wondering which model and year yours is?

Hi John,