Another GVWR post

Rooster58

Ok so I have a 06 Dodge Ram 2500 quad cab 4x4 with the auto and diesel. It's a base model ST tr truck. The GVWR is 9000lbs with 245/70-17 tires. Those have been long gone and replaced with 275/70-17. As it sits with tool box and tools with no passengers it weighs 7450. Add me the wife and kids along with luggage and I'm sure we are over or right at 8000lbs. Add bikes, generator and other camping stuff and you see where I'm going here. I don't have any GVWR left for towing. But I can load everything into the trailer with a GCWR of the truck being right at 21000lbs and be just fine. Is it really safer to have all the extra weight in the trailer? Now I've got lots of trailer towing experience. Not as much with campers and pickups but lots of towing experience anyway. So I ask again. Is it better to be over GVWR and under GCWR or be under GVWR and so close to GCWR? God I pray this makes sense to y'all fine folks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MCTalley

Fifth wheel or pull-behind trailer?

If a fifth wheel, you're probably already out of luck.

If a pull-behind, I'd distribute the load between the truck bed and the trailer keeping within both the truck's and the trailer's GVWR if possible. Sounds like you're close enough it might work. Don't forget your trailer's tongue weight, though.

Rooster58

It's a tow behind. I guess another question I have to ask is just how much weight does a weight distribution hitch take off the truck? Guess I could weight the truck without it installed and again without it installed. Prolly be the only way to be accurate.