Bio Diesel?

navyAZ1

We are traveling in the Mid-West and the West for the next few months and have been seeing a lot of Bio Diesel available out here and it's about 20 cents per gallon cheaper. Does anyone know do you have to have anything done to allow you to run this stuff? And is it an okay fuel to use? We have a 2007 Chevy Duramax.

bigredtruck

I work in the oil industry and here is what I remember hearing - You don't have to have anything done, however, some people say it causes some engine problems. I know both the Canadian and US governments are forcing Bio fuels on us in the near future, so if you trust them, then it's probably OK. having said that, it has a fairly high freezing point, so try to stay away from it in the winter.

pmmjarrett

Not just tired..... RETIRED!!!
Pro
  1. higher cetane rating
  2. more power (higher cetane rating)
  3. better fuel economy (higher cetane rating)
  4. very clean fuel
  5. cleaner exhaust emmisions
  6. will clean your fuel system. It's a great solvent and dino diesel is really a very dirty fuel......
  7. best fuel lubricant out there.... tested highest in lab HFRR testing of fuel additives, see chart, the lower the score the better the results.
  8. most engine manufacturers approve of at least a B5 blend, some have approved B20 but check with the engine manufacturer.
  9. first diesel in the world ran on peanut oil
  10. No wars over oil
Con
  1. gels faster in the winter
  2. will gradually eat rubber components like o rings and seals (problem is in old trucks and once they upgrade hoses and o rings problem goes away for good. Modern engines no longer use regular rubber o rings or hose in fuel systems.