ATF: MPG - Heater Not Working

484Dan

I purchased a MPG 3100BH in March of 2017. First time using the heat and the inducer fan comes on, blower comes on, then everything shuts off after 10-20 seconds and goes into lock out. Contacted the dealer I purchased from (2hrs away) and they want to charge me a $200 service fee to come out and diagnose a warranty problem. The option for me to tow it to them is available but I do not feel as though I should incur this cost. With that being said, I am an HVAC tech by trade and would be willing to fix myself- however, there is next to no access to get to the heater. Any suggestions on a troubleshooting process?
Regards- Dan

danemayer

I purchased a MPG 3100BH in March of 2017. First time using the heat and the inducer fan comes on, blower comes on, then everything shuts off after 10-20 seconds and goes into lock out. Contacted the dealer I purchased from (2hrs away) and they want to charge me a $200 service fee to come out and diagnose a warranty problem. The option for me to tow it to them is available but I do not feel as though I should incur this cost. With that being said, I am an HVAC tech by trade and would be willing to fix myself- however, there is next to no access to get to the heater. Any suggestions on a troubleshooting process?
Regards- Dan

Hi 484Dan,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum.

The first thing to check is propane supply. Close the tank valve, wait 10 seconds, and re-open it verrrrrrrrry slowly. There's an overflow protection device that shuts of supply if you open the valve too quickly.

If that doesn't help, we have a Furnace Troubleshooting Guide in this folder.