2008 GM truck bed rail hits pin box

bcaughey

I have a problem. I'm new to the 5th wheel trailer world so this might be stupid but here goes. The pin box on my 2008 Cyclone hits the bed rails on my 2008 silverado 2500HD when turned at about 75 degrees.
The hitch is already in the highest position. The trailer sits level when connected to the truck and the plate in the truck is level when connected to the trailer. The truck is standard no height or tire size modifications. Is there a different pin box available that is maybe 2" shorter in height at the trailer connection to allow it to swing inside or above the bed rails. I have looked at the airborne pin box but I couldn't find any dimensions to see if this would fix the problem. Can the ends of the pin box be trimmed off to allow for more room?

Northern Virginia
I had the same issue with my 08 2500HD GMC. I have a 20k Reese hitch that has 8 height settings. Mine was second to the lowest.

When I brought our new Landmark home, the pin box contacted the bed at sharp turns (fortunately, the damage was minimal) I raised the hitch to the highest setting and it now clears the bed.

You might want to talk to your hitch installer about a taller hitch.

John

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Getting the hitch/pinbox set up correctly can be a tricky task. To just raise the hitch would mean your coach will ride nose high, and that may not be the best sollution. If your front end rides to high you will put extra weight on your rear axle. Maybe 1000 pounds more on the rear than the front. Ideally you want equal, or as close as possible weight distribution between the two. Check to see that if you raise your hitch if you can also raise your pinbox. That will keep your trailer level assuming that it is now. Also do a search on this forum. There was someone that cut the corners off his pinbox for clearance..... Clarence.
Hope this helps
Peace
Dave

jbeletti

bcaughey,