PDA

View Full Version : New Super Duty, new Cyclone, new hitch - what could go wrong?

porthole
12-31-2017, 08:36 PM
I wonder if the hitch had stayed attached if the outcome would have been any different.

(Not our truck and trailer - California incident.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=11&v=DOnxT1S4Irw

jbeletti
12-31-2017, 09:04 PM
Wow. Looks like the mounting rails bolts gave way.

porthole
12-31-2017, 09:11 PM
In the comments section:

"Update to incident: I was traveling 40 mph and the light went to yellow switched in less than 2 seconds. I did run the light, it was my fault 100% however after talking to CHP he says these lights are not timed correctly. I could not stop in time, I laid on my horn for what seemed forever (no eye contact from driver) He rear ended the back of my bed. Very scary my son (8) and daughter (5) and wife are all okay. Im a good driver however today was not my day. It could of been a lot worse. Thank you for all the kind words. See you all soon!"

Wmnmy
12-31-2017, 09:26 PM
Glad you guys are ok trucks and rigs can be replaced. Godspeed......

porthole
12-31-2017, 09:45 PM
Glad you guys are ok trucks and rigs can be replaced. Godspeed......

Not our truck and trailer - California incident.

Wmnmy
12-31-2017, 09:47 PM
Whew good news...

alwaysbusy
12-31-2017, 10:13 PM
2 seconds between light displays on a signal cycle would mean this road has a 20 mile speed limit. Given two lanes with a white dashed line I highly doubt the posted limit is 20 mph. If a 2 second cycle is correct, the short cycle would provide inadequate time between perception/reaction. Considering a high deceleration factor with the Cyclone in an emergency stopping situation, it makes the account given by the operator highly plausible. The light signal could very well be the primary contributory factor.

MCTalley
12-31-2017, 11:44 PM
Wow. Looks like the mounting rails bolts gave way.