Towing an XLT with a Half-Ton

kampfirekid

So, if you can bear with this newbie here, I'd appreciate it. We are new to fivers and I have a few questions.

We have a 27 foot Jayco travel trailer and are considering upgrading. Our dream has always been a fifth wheel, but we always figured it was out of our league. This past weekend, we looked at a Sundance 285BH and fell in love with it. We also have been considering the North Trail version 28BH because it is a little lighter and has a lighter pin weight. Basically, the two are the same pigs with different listick as they say.

I have a 2008 Ford F-150 with the 5.4L and the dealer seems to think we will have no problem with our half-ton pulling the North Trail unit. He says he sells them all the time. We'd haul the fiver with a basically unloaded truck - all stuff in the fiver, so our payload of 1,680# should be fine, and the GCWR of 15,000# seems alright as well.

So the question is if any of you are hauling one of these with a half ton, and what are your experiences? If we do this, it probably won't be for a few months (probably late fall or early spring) and towing with a half-ton would probably be only a few times until next spring at which time I'll most likely trade up to a 3/4 ton truck again. Even if we pulled it next spring a few times, I think we could live with it. What do you all think? Could we "get by" for a few times camping, or would I be better off having it delivered home and stare at it while I'm waiting to upgrade our tow vehicle?

ccd001

1/2 ton towing a fifth wheel camper

NoneI know from experience 1/2 ton trucks will tow a fifth wheel your looking at. The real question is the terrian you will be towing in and how far
you will be towing camper from your home. 1/2 ton trucks have smaller
brakes and the transmission/driveline are so much lighter. If I were you I
wouldn't buy the camper till you buy the 3/4 ton truck and you should