Jerking when I start from a stop

I am new to the fifth wheel world. I have a stock 2015 f 250 diesel with a 2018 Heartland Landmark 3712 CK. I'm using a Demco Autoslider 18K unit. The problem I'm having is when I start driving while straightening out from a turn I get a bad jerk. I've tried slowing down on the gas pedal when I start going while in the turn to lessen it and it seems to help some. Everything seems to ride smoothly once I get going down the road. Not sure if going to a Moryde pinbox would help or not. Looking for any help before we go nuts with this jerking problem. Matt

danemayer

Hi Eastongang,

It might be that your truck is overloaded, but it's hard to tell. I've never heard of a Landmark 3712 CK. That sounds like a Cyclone toy hauler model number. But if so, perhaps it's not a 2018 model.

Could you update us on what trailer you have. Also, if you can take a look at the plaque on the front, off-door-side near the pinbox, it shows the GVWR. What is your trailer's GVWR?

LBR

I am new to the fifth wheel world. I have a stock 2015 f 250 diesel with a 2018 Heartland Landmark 3712 CK. I'm using a Demco Autoslider 18K unit. The problem I'm having is when I start driving while straightening out from a turn I get a bad jerk. I've tried slowing down on the gas pedal when I start going while in the turn to lessen it and it seems to help some. Everything seems to ride smoothly once I get going down the road. Not sure if going to a Moryde pinbox would help or not. Looking for any help before we go nuts with this jerking problem. Matt
Are you sure it isnt a Gateway instead of a Landmark?

I have the same hitch and tow a 2014 Landmark with the Moryde pin box. I find the hitch superior to my previous hitches with no noise or jerking during turns. Demco does recommend the top inspection plates be removed and grease be applied to the gearing. Perhaps the dry gear teeth are binding.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SNOKING