Commode (closet) Flange

klindgren

Retired Virginia Chapter Leaders
We were having problems with our camode not shutting off when the foot pedel was released. We had a local RV Mobile Repair service come out and they said our plastic flange was broken. They installed a "flange repair kit" but said it was only a temporary fix. It raised the toilet about an eighth of an inch so now the camode definetely does not shut off without putting your foot under the lever and pulling up. If you don't stand and watch that the water stops, you end up with an overflowing toilet and a flooded floor (don't ask me how I know :) )

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is what the mobile repair guy said, that the original flange was plastic and how do you repalce that so the camode can sit flush on the floor?

Thanks

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Re: Camode Flange

Wow, Keith, I'm not a plumbing expert but it sounds more like you need to replace the water valve.
What brand of toilet to you have?

Peace
Dave

Reactions: LBR

Gaffer

It is the toilet not the flange. Put a shutoff valve on it no matter what else you do, repair or replace.

Attachments

• 20161005_170359.jpg
    20161005_170359.jpg
    78.8 KB · Views: 48
Last edited:

travelin2

Pennsylvania Chapter Leaders-retired

Ok. Keith said it won’t shutoff unless you lift up on the pedal so I don’t think it’s the valve. My guess is the “kit” has twisted the toilet base and not allowing the pedal/ball to close. That mechanism is spring loaded and follows a groove. Again I think it’s torqued and binding in said grooves which means removal inspection lubrication and likely adjustments especially when reinstalling.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

danemayer

Keith,

If it's a Dometic, you might just give them a call. Before calling, see if you can position your phone to take a picture of the model/serial label. I think it's on the side.

klindgren