4012 and a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel

Hello all!

I'm not only new to the forum, but new to 5ers as well.

Over the weekend, my companion and I went to the local dealer to look at Toy Haulers and definitely fell in love with Cyclones.

Of course the dealer says we can pull it with a Ram 3500 diesel (dually or not). The guy who would sell me the truck will swear that I can pull anything and everything.

Now, I went through the threads and by my calculations using the loaded truck weight (over 7k lbs) and the dry weight of the Cyclone 4012, that would leave me with approximately 1200 lbs before I was overloaded. That's using the 23000 lb truck capacity. I figure my motorcycle weighs around 850 lbs. So, in theory, that would leave me 350 lbs for everything else. Now, I'm new at pulling this type of rig, so it's possible my math is wrong.

We're looking to full-time, so our tow vehicle has to be our everyday vehicle, also.

We would probably move a max of 3 to 4 times a year...

Is there anyone pulling a Cyclone as big as a 4012 with a Ram 3500 Diesel? Are you full-time? How do you feel about the pull? What truck mods do you believe are "required" to do this safely? Can it be done safely? What do you have loaded in it? What are the drawbacks?

Feel free to answer any other question you can think of! None

Thanks in advance for any help I can get. We love the 4012, but are really concerned about full-timing with that trailer and the 3500 Diesel.

I know we'll buy a heartland product, and I really do love the Toy Haulers with the lofts.

Hopefully, I'll learn quickly

azbound