Ladies - I need some advice

SDurbak

My husband and I have been shopping for a 5th wheel for about 8 years, so that when we retired we would know exactly what we wanted. We had already even purchased a tow vehicle and hitch. We both retired earlier this year. When we saw the Newport, it was nearly perfect. When I saw the floorplan for the Arlington in a brochure, it WAS perfect. Then I found out they had been discontinued. Then I found a brand new one online with all the features and colors we wanted. We put down a deposit over the phone. We got everything in place - a spot reserved at a secure RV storage facility, a campground reservation for on the way back home, we even purchased a satellite and receiver, surger protector, and a few other things. We drove 12 hours to go purchase it, and at the last minute (and I mean the VERY last minute) my husband backed out of the deal. His reason - he's "not comfortable" pulling it. He's never pulled one before, and it scares him. We asked the dealer about taking it out for a test drive, and they never really gave us an answer. So now we're on our way back home, with no trailer. I am at a loss as to how to convince him it's not that difficult. I am devastated by losing the perfect camper we've searched so long for, and I don't want to give up our retirement travelling dreams. Advice?

kowAlski631

Heaven knows that they can be intimidating to drive. We have a Bighorn 3670RL and when I first saw it I thought " Oh my goodness, what are we doing. This is huge and I don't think we should do this." But I'm so glad we didn't back out.

I doubt that any dealer would do the test drive thing. It's not a vehicle, it's a trailer and you'd need proper insurance in place to allow someone who's never driven one to do so. Personally, I wouldn't let someone drive mine.