Breakaway cable

gsbainter

Hello everyone

I am new to fifth wheels and new to this forum. Two Saturdays ago we took delivery of our brand new (2008) 2800RLS. So far we love it. We are taking it on its first shakedown cruise in October. I have a question about the breakaway cable. During my PDI the guy at the dealership said to connect the breakaway cable to the hitch (saddle) arm. That doesn't really seem right to me so I thought I would ask the experts. So, where do you guys hook up your breakaway cable?

SmokeyBare

Hi GS,

Welcome to the Fourm... Welcome to the the new life of Fifth Wheel RV's.

Yes the Break-away cable can attach to the hitch... It is there to activate the brakes... should the Fifth Wheel King Pin fail... or for any reason the Fifth Wheel brakes away from the Truck.

One more note, the Key attached to the Cable.. can come out... and be put back in the Break-away system. So when the time comes... you have forgotten to un-attach that cable from the hitch or where ever you have attached it... don't fret...

Just look quickly about... taking note if anyone has seen what you've done... (Do you detect some experience here) and put that key back inside the break-away device. It's not broken... it's designed to do that ! Yeah... I've been there - done that...

TXBobcat

Fulltime
Welcome to the forum. As mentioned above the cable is to set the brakes on your trailer if it becomes disconnected from your TV (Tow Vehicle).. Connect it to a place around your hitch but not to a place that it will cause the key to be removed if you make a sharp turn in either direction. I have a B&W Hitch and it has a pin that keeps the handle closed. I put the pin through the loop in the cable and into the hitch handle.