EMS install problem

orion7144

I installed the Progressive industries HW50C (the one with the remote) and I am getting an E-9 error (Data link down). No other errors show up. I have it connected to my inverter generator since I am in the storage lot with no access to shore power. I called PI and they insist that it is the data cable between the main unit and the remote. I have ohm'd out the cable and it is fine. This is a brand new unit that was in a sealed box. We are heading out on a trip Sunday so I am asking here if anyone else has had any issues. I understand the un-bonded neutral issue but I put the remote in bypass and it still did not work. When I manually held the contactor closed, I got power to the RV (I am an electronics engineer so I do not recommend just anyone holding the contactor in manually).

Thanks

NWILSON

Kentucky Chapter Leaders - retired
As much as it looks like a phone line, it isn't! It MUST be specifically labeled as a data cable

orion7144

As much as it looks like a phone line, it isn't! It MUST be specifically labeled as a data cable

That's what tech support said. I ohm'd it out pin 1 to pin 1 2-2 etc and all tested good. The remote powers up and goes through the voltage reading and current then straight to E-9. It does show 0v and 0a even though I have 125 on each leg.

danemayer

I understand the un-bonded neutral issue but I put the remote in bypass and it still did not work.

Are you saying you bonded neutral and ground at the generator and still have the problem, or are you saying that you have some reason to think that putting the remote in bypass would eliminated the need to bond neutral and ground?

orion7144

Are you saying you bonded neutral and ground at the generator and still have the problem, or are you saying that you have some reason to think that putting the remote in bypass would eliminated the need to bond neutral and ground?