Michelin Defenders Question

BarbandFrank

I’m getting ready to replace my truck tires with Michelin Defenders. I’ve read on this forum, and others, that the LTX M/S2’s are the way to go. Is there any reason to consider (or not) the Michelin Defenders AT 2’s? We tow with a 3500 Ram DRW pulling an 18,000 pound Landmark.

Also, is it necessary to replace all six tires - or can I replace just the rear tires? Any impact on towing performance?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Frank

NYSUPstater

Cannot answer the 6 VS 4 tire question as I'm new to the dually world. My take on it is, how many miles on the tires? How much tread is left? 4x4 or 2x4? Any winter driving? Don't know about Ram, but Ford says when rotating tires to just swap front's w/ fronts and rears w/ rears unlike a non dually where you rotate them in a "X" pattern. As for brands, I'm a believer in Michelin's, but stuck w/ brand truck(s) came w/ originally. IMO the key to longevity is rotations every 5k miles.

MCTalley

We have Defenders on our Ford F350 DRW. I replaced all six at the same time primarily because I had an out of round front tire and all six (original equipment) tires were fairly well worn. The tire dealer indicated that the Defenders were eventually replacing the MS/2's. Interestingly, the Michelin site still shows both tires but shows the Defenders as only available in 15 and 16 inch wheel sizes. We have 17 inch wheels on our truck, so that's strange. (I did go out a little while ago and verified I truly do have Defenders on mine).

Anyway, apparently both tires are close to the same (the tread pattern is pretty much identical). We've gotten exceptional wear on ours. All six tires have more than half of the tread remaining and they have 40K miles on them, mostly towing.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member