Is it my power converter/inverter or the battery? Please help.

JenniferD

I own a 2007 Bighorn 5th wheel. I live in it full time and I am connected to shore power. I have to use the power converter/inverter and the battery to run my a.c. unit and the refrigerator from what I was told... well, I have a battery charger connected to my battery and it just isnt charging much... my refrigerator was slowly cooling but when I would open the door the light would dim. I turned off the refrigerator. My a.c. unit would not turn on either.

Is it possible that either my battery (which is a deep cell battery) could be bad or the power inverter? Also, is it hard to replace a power converter? Could I do it myself or do I need an electrician to install it for me? what kind of a power inverter should I purchase? Will any kind do? I'm new to the rv world.

Any advice to this newbie who likes to do things herself is helpful.

Thank you in advance,
Jennifer D

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
If your not charging you battery and your AC is not working while plugged into shore power it sounds like your problem could be with the shore power.
Cycle the breakers at the pedestal off then on again. Do the same for the breakers in your coach. Don't rely on a visual, cycle them.
Having a multimeter is almost a must for diagnosing electrical problems. Do you have one?

Peace
Dave

JenniferD

I did check the fuses and the breaker box and all that is good. I am connected to shore power and can run a lamp and a fan. I do not know how to cycle the breakers at the pedestal... I'm confused about that.

Last edited by a moderator:

JenniferD

If your not charging you battery and your AC is not working while plugged into shore power it sounds like your problem could be with the shore power.
Cycle the breakers at the pedestal off then on again. Do the same for the breakers in your coach. Don't rely on a visual, cycle them.