An Alternative to Wirenuts that should great in RV's

wdk450

Gang:
After reading Jim's and others posts about an electric water heater problem, remembering my own fight in the tiny water heater electrical connection box with the wirenuts, and all of the other postings over the years about intermittent wirenut connections in places like undertrailer electrical interconnect boxes, I wondered if there was a new solution to this problem of easily and reversibly connecting small electrical wiring. Well, a websearch came up with these new, cam arm operated, reliable, vibration resistant, wire connectors. https://www.kinequip.com/wago-221-4...iy-cSVhxA5uNot3owO0ixDodvk_HvbwxoCfbUQAvD_BwE . Check out the 2nd mouse selectable illustration on the left to see how they work.

Now, how do we get the RV manufacturers to adopt these?

danemayer

Bill,

I've been replacing wire nuts with Wago connectors for the past 2 years. I think Jesstalkn referenced them in one of his mods. They're fabulous. They come in various sizes permitting joining of more than a couple of wires. And they nicely join solid wire with stranded wire, which can be tricky with wire nuts. Different wire sizes aren't a problem either.

Here's a link to the Wago connectors I've been using.

Bob.jr

Is there a pictualare size you use most often?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

wdk450

I found these on E-Bay with easy choices of smaller lots, and various numbers of terminals. Only big drawback (that I try to watch for on E-Bay) is that they are shipped from China, about 15 days delivery time.

RoadJunkie

I’ve been using something like THESE from Home Depot for a few years. They have a mixed pack with options for 2,3 and 4 wire gangs.

dykesj11

Dan Mayer turned me on to these this past summer. Dave Tyler and I used them for control wiring in three CheapHeat installations we did. Way easier than wirenuts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

wdk450