12v Ceiling Lights Only in Living/Kitchen Not Working

Prafeston

2012 Heartland Big Country 3450TS

Hello! Newbie here! First RV and trying to track down some issues. Five of my 12v lights in the ceiling in the kitchen/living room aren't working. Bulbs are good, fuses are good, just think I'm not getting power to the switch. Pulled my lower compartment apart to check converter and fuses there. Fuses all seem good but the converter looks like it might have gotten wet at some point. There are signs of water around it and some electrical corrosion. Fan in the converter is turning on and all other lights work except the one under the overhang by the pinbox that has the switch on the side of the fixture.
Everything else in the coach seems to be working fine. Refrigerator, microwave, heater, all other lights, and all outlets. I did a visual inspection of the fuses...and I tried a couple fuses in the fuse panel for the ceiling lights and nothing changed. Swapping known good fuses into the ceiling light fuse spot. I did not try new fuses in the 3 slots on the converter itself though.Thoughts?

F824E461-E9D2-4747-AAAD-7357A729598E.jpg

112B05D8-3BB7-45A3-B131-4D26E3D5BB64.jpg

0AE5A5AC-5398-4975-94D2-E188DFC51486.jpg

05CC3EF3-D24D-48AF-B30A-3AAF983F6311.jpg

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I think you might be on the right track thinking about the switch.
I would pull the switch and inspect it. I have seen more than a few that have over heated and stopped working.
You might also use your multimeter and check if you do have 12 volts getting the the switch. You will need to pick up a neutral or ground somewhere as there is no neutral at the switch.
If that is all okay the I would pull the light that is the closest to the switch and inspect the wiring there as all of the lights are daisy chained together.

Peace
Dave

Prafeston