28 BHS Winterization

Johnp322

The time is coming fast here in the NorthEast to start the winterization process. This is my first year with the trailer and new to the winterization task. Any help would be appreciated.
John

jbeletti

North Trail Winterization Process

Below is some "general" guidance from the North Trail plant. While it is step-by-step, it may not be to the level of detail for a first-timer.

Jim

**Heartland recommends that customers see a certified North Trail dealer for winterization whenever possible**

When unavailable:

1) Drain the fresh water holding tank by opening the ball valve located on the exterior of the unit (See label).

2) At the back of the water heater, there are (3) ball valves. Close the cold line going into the water heater and close the hot line coming out of the water heater. Open the bypass valve that runs between the hot and cold lines.

3) On the outside of the unit open the water heater access door and unscrew the large plug at the bottom of the water heater face (Should be a 1-1/16” socket) and remove.

4) Inside the unit, locate the 12volt water pump. There should be 2 valves at the pump. Close the ball valve between the fresh water tank and the inlet side of the pump. Open the valve between the white flexible hose and the inlet side of the pump.

5) Insert the flexible line into a gallon jug of RV antifreeze and turn on the pump.

6) Turn on the cold water at the kitchen sink and run until the water starts to run pink then shut it off. Turn on the hot water at the kitchen sink until the water runs pink, (Note: be sure to run the water on the hot side long enough to fill the P-trap with antifreeze before shutting it off).

7) Repeat the process on the bathroom lav. and the shower or tub. (Be sure to allow enough antifreeze into the P-trap on both drains).

8) Flush the toilet until the water coming out is pink.

9) Go to the outside shower and repeat the process used on the inside faucets.