How is my LM underbelly insulated? What precautions should I take?

wmcgarva

We have just taken delivery of a new Landmark Augusta. There are plans in the works for a Christmas trip to Massachusetts so this information would be very useful in our decision. I am a little hesitant as I do not want to damage any of the equipment. Any advice from the experienced members would be very helpful.

beardedone

Beardedone
I think we could use a few more details. For instance what are the circumstances that give rise to you taking precautions. It could be squirrels or a lot of other things. (I have lots of experience with squirrels and it is mostly bad - just my luck)

jbeletti

wmcgarva,

Generally speaking, (and from memory so pretty accurate but maybe not exact) for the Landmark, and I will assume you have a model year 2009, the insulation and barriers would be as follows:

• A continuous sheet of Coroplast is fastened to the bottom of the frame using self-tapping screws and fender washers. This material spans the width of the outer edges of the I-beam frame members and runs from the rear cap to the front of the coach. When one refers to our underbelly material, it is this Coroplast. This is what keeps stuff out of the underbelly and is your first layer of protection.
  • Now inside the underbelly, on top of the Coroplast, is a sheet of Double-Layer Flex -Foil insulation.
  • Also inside, on top of the Flex-Foil insulation is a layer of Fiberglass insulation.
  • On top of and in between the Fiberglass insulation will be cross-framing members, plumbing lines, electrical lines and some dead air space.