Burners won't light

CornelR

In our 2010 Landmark, Oakmont is an Amana aly2280bds gas oven/range. The burners will not light. THe fellow who delivered it frantically spun the piezo knob and stripped the center out. I have one on order. Meanwhile, we did discover that if I turn the gas on and wait 10-15+ seconds and then spin the piezo (before he toasted it) the burner would sometimes light. The gas furnace works perfectly so propane is flowing. We have looked for leaks and find none. I am a newbie any help will be gratefully acceptecd. I have perused the appropriate forum and did not see this issue. I am also reading some of the provided HUD manuals.

danemayer

Successfully lighting the burners on top will verify that propane is getting to the range. If the top burners don't light, there's a problem with the propane flow.

Although I'm not sure about your Amana, the piezo knob may only spark the top burners. The oven burner probably works differently. most use a pilot light and thermocouple. The pilot needs to be lit manually with a lighter or long stem match.

CornelR

Successfully lighting the burners on top will verify that propane is getting to the range. If the top burners don't light, there's a problem with the propane flow.

Although I'm not sure about your Amana, the piezo knob may only spark the top burners. The oven burner probably works differently. most use a pilot light and thermocouple. The pilot needs to be lit manually with a lighter or long stem match.

We did get the top burners to light a few times before the piezo knob tanked. So, propane is flowing. I have not addressed the oven yet.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
With our stove, we found that occasionally the wire to the piezo would come out of it's socket. Lift the burner top and check the wire. It may have become loose or completely come out. Kinda hard to destroy it by turning it too much.