Satellite Dish Alignment for HD Direct TV

silverfox

We just got Direct TV today with the HD dish on a tripod. We will be moving in a couple of weeks to a remote campground for 6 months. According to the technician who did our installation, I will need to call Direct TV back out to 'align' the dish. What do people do who are moving around all the time?

I'm pretty new to this satellite tv stuff and haven't a clue. Ebay has all kind of devices to supposedly align the dish. Any recommendations on what to use?

Diana

bsummit

Arkansas Chapter Leader-Retired
Do you have a compass? I get on dishpointer.com and put in the city or zip code and it will give you the direction, elevation and tilt for where you will be. I alway set my dish with the elevation and tilt before I get where i'm going, so all I do is level the tripod and then use the compass to get direction and turn the dish till I get the signal. I never heard of a technician having to come out and do the set up. IMO the direction finders are a waist of money.
Good luck.
Bill

leftyf

SSG Stumpy-VA Terrorist
Do you have a compass? I get on dishpointer.com and put in the city or zip code and it will give you the direction, elevation and tilt for where you will be. I alway set my dish with the elevation and tilt before I get where i'm going, so all I do is level the tripod and then use the compass to get direction and turn the dish till I get the signal. I never heard of a technician having to come out and do the set up. IMO the direction finders are a waist of money.
Good luck.
Bill

Some techy don't know his job...or is spouting the company line. While it is or can be a pain in the keister to set one of these up...you may need help...but, even *I* don't need tech support.

I think I'd do some dry runs before I had to do it for real...and if there are other dishes around, you can usually set yours up just by looking at the other guy.

Lefty "I'm so good at this...that I only use automatic dishes" Frizzell