Bedliner: Drop-in or Spray-in?

Jimdee

Hi folks. I'm new to the forum. My wife, Dee, and I plan to buy a LM Pinehurst this summer and go fulltiming in early 2010. I recently purchased a 2007 GMC 3500 Dually with the Duramax/Allison, so I should be set as far as a tow vehicle. My question has to do with the bedliner. It currently has a drop-in liner. I've been thinking of replacing it with a Rhino spray-in liner. I'd really appreciate some opinions on whether or not it's worth it to do this. Also, when I have the fifth wheel hitch installed, what effect would each kind of bedliner have on the installation? As an RV newbie, I'm really looking forward to getting lots of good information from the Heartland family. Thanks very much. Jim

jimtoo

I went with a Turbo-Liner. It has same chemical makeup as the Line-X and is usually a lot less expensive and has same warranty. Also I had hitch installed previous to having Turbo-Liner sprayed in, so my bed rails were coated also. Mine is going on 4 years old and is holding up good.

Jim M

Last edited:

jnbhobe

Jim's right about the installation, do the liner first. All thou I drilled The hitch holes first so the edges of the holes are coated when the spraying is done.I have Rhino lining in my 03 and LineX in my 07. They are about the same the Rhino may be more plyable.Any of them are better than the slide in liners,you won't have stuff stuck between the liner and the bed. JON;):)

terdebb

I would say spray in I have had the spray in in my last two trucks and would never go back to drop in.
Terry B

SmokeyBare

Jim,

The spray in liner should NOT be the rubber type... meaning it should be hard surface type and not a material that would allow movement when you install the rails for the fifth wheel hitch.

Marv

TXBobcat

Fulltime