Gooseneck ball + adapter + 3670RL Bighorn

rickbsgu

rickbsgu
So, I've got a truck with a killer gooseneck ball installed in it, already. Looking to get the 3670RL (which is a moderately heavy trailer - 12K dry).

I can get that all cut out and replaced with a plate, but I'm wondering if a gooseneck adapater would work?

Gooseneck ratings are pretty high - towing horses, vehicle carriers, etc. I'm thinking a concern would be the shock transmitted to the trailer? The truck's got a pretty stiff suspension (air-bags added). Is there an adapter with a suspension mechanism in it?

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I'm a real newbie in the fiver world, so any help appreciated. I'd like to really understand the issues before spending a couple of grand to get it cut out and replaced with a plate.

thanx,
rickb

geeksrus

Many manufacturers void the 5er frame warranty if using a gooseneck. I suggest you contact Heartland & Lippert to get the scoop.

Eh!

Delaine and Lindy

rickbsgu, if you happen to have a Gooseneck B&W turnover ball your in luck. You can buy a Companion 5th wheel hitch and then you can pull a 5th wheel. If not I would seek a more expert advice. Good Luck. GBY....

rickbsgu

rickbsgu
Got it. I found a few more threads on the topic - consensus (and answer from factory guy) is the warranty is voided.

I guess that 86's that idea.

thanx,
rickb

Niles

You didn't say what kind of ball hitch you have, I have a B&W type and they make a fifth wheel hitch for it called the companion, which I have and really like it. It has a pin that you take the ball hitch out and put it in then attach the hitch to it. The nice part is when you take the hitch out you have a clean bed (no hitch rails). I know there is other kinds of the turn-over ball hitch and I think they also have this kind of set-up, I'm just not familiar with them.

TXBobcat

Fulltime
Rick