Should I Buy???

JWalker

Northeast Region Director-Retired
We are looking at upgrading tow vehicles. In the near future we would like to get into our first fifth wheel. (Sundance??) We found a nice 05 F250 XLT, 41000 miles, 6.0 dsl. 3.73 gears. What are your thoughts on this truck and is it enough to pull a 30'-32' fifth wheel. I'm new to diesel trucks, but I heard that there has been some problems with this model. I only put around 5-6 thousand miles a year on a truck and it is mostly towing.

Thanks for the help.

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member
I have a 99 Ford F350 with a 7.3 diesel. I have never owned the 6.0 Ford diesel but have know some who have and they have told me there are numerous problems with the 6.0. I am sure some others on this forum will chime in but I, personally, would not buy a 6.0.

Tom of Ypsi

The newer 6.0 models (2003) had problems but that was corrected. Our current truck has not had any problems. Get all of the maintenance records you can from the truck you are looking at. See if you can take it to a shop and have them look at it, may cost you now but it is better than later.

Shadowchek

That is plenty of truck to pull a sundance but the 6.0 makes me a little nervous. I know people with early and late 6.0's some have been trouble free but others have replaced turbo's and injectors. I went with an 02 so that I had the more dependable 7.3L.

Greg

timk

Our kids 05 has had two turbos, and one or two egr valve replacements, and some leak problems. Got a nice interior. Ask anybody in the know, and most will tell you that the 6.0 was not a shining moment in Ford history.

jnbhobe

I've got two 6.0 Fords an early 03 with 100,000 mi. and an 07 with 30,000 mi. We've not had any problems with either truck. Both are setup to tow the 5th wheel or anything else I find to hook onto. The 03 also plows snow all winter(lots of snow this year) Now if I didn;t jinks my self I'll stay happy with my Ford.6.0 :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

vangoes