Hello,

I am new to RVing and trying to get my feet wet. I spent several days on the computer researching manufacturers, makes, models, and floor plan. After a full day on the lot, we decided on the Big Country 3550 TSL. I have a few things to learn and practice before I take her on the road but, we are hoping to take our first weekend trip in March. If anyone has any advise on what I should focus on or look out for, please fire away.

I live in Virginia and look forward to seeing some of you on the road. I will be joining the Owners Club soon.

Safe travels,

Roadrunner

davebennington

Roadrunner,

Welcome to the Heartland family. Consider also joining the Virginia Heartland owners club, we are having a rally in April at Misty Mountain Campground. You would be welcome to attend and share a camping experience with the other Heartland owners.

Dave

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
Hi Roadrunner,

I just want to echo Dave's welcome and also invite you to join us for the Virginia Owner's Rally we're having Apr 3-5. You can check out the details on the forum under the clubs section. Also, feel free to drop me a PM or email.

Hope you enjoy the new rig. The best advice I can give is to expect a few minor problems - water lines that need tightening, screws that need tightening, etc. Take the unit out for a short shakedown trip closeby to home and test out all the systems - water, gas, electricity, TV hookups, light switches, outlets, etc. A few bugs may pop up, but don't let those upset you. These trailers are big, heavy machines and a few things are gonna work loose every now and then (especially if you're travelling over a lot of bumpy roads). Make sure you check your tire air pressure faithfully. Low air pressure can cause a multitude of issues.

Happy camping,

Gus Funderburg
Virginia Chapter Leader

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member