Roadmaster Active Suspension

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
I'm no engineer so this is an opinion. I can see how it's designed to work but I can't see how it would be a major, if any at all, improvement over a set of air bags. It appears to be a horizontal coil helper spring as opposed to an additional leaf spring being added. air bags actually cushion the ride and add to the leaf springs ability to carry a load. I wouldn't buy it.

leftyf

SSG Stumpy-VA Terrorist
I'm no engineer so this is an opinion. I can see how it's designed to work but I can't see how it would be a major, if any at all, improvement over a set of air bags. It appears to be a horizontal coil helper spring as opposed to an additional leaf spring being added. air bags actually cushion the ride and add to the leaf springs ability to carry a load. I wouldn't buy it.

I don't even see it doing that much, Ray. It looks like, to me, just a way to "rearch" the springs back to what they were before you put the load on.

Bet, there's tremendous pressure on that thing.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I just went to the web site and when I see claims of their springs guaranteed to save fuel I feel pretty confident that the claims of helping your suspension are just as accurate. I am happy with my air bags.
Peace
Dave

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
I just went to the web site and when I see claims of their springs guaranteed to save fuel I feel pretty confident that the claims of helping your suspension are just as accurate. I am happy with my air bags.
Peace
Dave
I agree on that too. I was reading their explanation of how it saved fuel. I thought, sounds like double talk to me.

tmcran