Generator

rumtot

I just purchased an Edge 18. I am thinking about getting a generator large enough to run the A/C unit. I would like to know what size generator I should look to buy. Any ideas about brand, weight, and cost would be helpful. Thanx in advance for any help. Scott

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Scott, assuming that you have a 13,500 btu ac unit that draw about, (not knowing what brand you have) 12.8 amps. That means you will need 1,656 watts to run it. If you are careful with your use of other things at the same time a 2,000 watt genny will work. What we don't now here is how much current your converter, refer or any other appliance you may use draws. I would consider a 3,000 watt for no worrys. Pros of a 2,000 watt = lighter, quieter. Cons of a 3,000 watt = louder and heavier. I am no expert on these matters so do your homework. Also consider rigging up an extended run tank if you plan to run your air for hours and hours.
Peace
Dave

J

Jumpshot

yeah, I agree with Cookie's reply. The dealer recommended 3-3500 watt gen. Add up all the amp draw and look at a Honda, Coleman, Konan? Check out the RV gens... get it quiet. Make sure you figure out the whole how you are going to supply gas to it...

rumtot

Thanx Jumpshot and Cookie I'll do some homework at this end and let you know what I do. Thanx again for the info. Scott

ddhburns

After a lot of research, I settled on the Yamaha EF30iSEB with a trifuel conversion. The problem, in my mind, of hauling gasoline is -- hauling gasoline! I've got some rolling 14 gallon tanks I could use, but the stuff just reeks no matter how you clean it up. The idea of keeping gallons and gallons of gasoline under the bed, for example, just wasn't appealing. If you're handy, you can do the propane conversion yourself; I'm not, so I'm having these guys do it http://www.yamaha-propane-natural-gas-generators.com/