Prospective fw buyer needs education

codycarver

Founding Wyoming Chapter Leader-retired
Brand new to this. Wife and I have been saving for several years and are about to take the next step. Been looking hard at the Sundance (mostly the 3200 re and recently the 3200 rk) also been looking at the Sabre line. We have ruled out Cougar. We have everything to learn. I've been advised by a long time fwer that length can be a situation at some camp grounds (nearly all their camping is on national forest or State and Fed parks). I've been pushing and pulling trailers since my feet could reach the pedals so I'm not concerned about that end of it. Will be using a long bed Dodge diesel for a tow vehicle. I have a B&W turn over goose neck hitch and understand they sell a fifth wheel kit for it. Any input would be greatly appreciated

ricatic

Codycarver,

Welcome to the friendliest place in RV'ing. We looked at a lot of 5vers before buying our Bighorn 3055RL. It has been at the scales and loaded for camping but only 20 gallons of water it weighs 11900. We pull it with a F250 CC SB 4WD PSD. We have the B&W Turnover ball hitch as well. We purchased the B&W Companion 5th wheel hitch to work with the turnover ball. It works great, highly recommended. Good Luck with your purchase.

Ricatic

TXBobcat

Fulltime
What would help is tell us what Tow Vehicle (TV) you have Dodge Longbed doesn't help much. 2500, 3500, 4500 or what. Single Rear Wheel (SRW) or Dual Rear Wheel (DRW). Makes a lot of difference in a lot of what you can tow.

The Gross weight of a 3200re is about 14k. A 2500 would tow it fine. You will need the companion 5th wheel to go with the turnoverball gooseneck. DO NOT use a gooseneck adapter. You will void the warranty.

Read this forum and you should find a lot of good information.

Good luck and Travel Safe.

BC

codycarver

Thanks for your replies. It is a 2500 dodge Cummins 5 spd with an exhaust brake.

Rrloren