towing tips needed

debh

while not new at all to towing a camper or towing in general (i drive a tractor/trailer) i am new to towing a 5th wheel camper.

any tips that you all can give me on this would be GREATLY appreciated! i have 10 years experience with a tractor/trailer but im sure there are many differences. the main one being that i would have to pay for damage to MY truck/trailer! lol.

ive ordered a 3300RLB and have a 2002 F-250 7.3L diesel TV.

we should be getting the new camper in another week or 2. i cant wait!

Northern Virginia
I think one of the biggest differences between the big rigs and us is that the wheels on 5th wheels are much farther forward than on a tractor trailer. Because of this, the rear end swings out a lot in the opposite direction you are turning. Makes for some tight turns in gas stations and wooded camp grounds.

John

Rrloren

With your experience sounds like you can give the rest of us some tips, lol.
You'll find draggin a 5th wheel a piece of cake with your knowledge of Tractor Trailers , enjoy your new rig.

westxsrt10

Perfict Senior Member
You will probaly want air bags for the rear of your F-250 because of the pin weight on that model. Looks like a loaded pin weight will a total of over 2500 lbs, thats too much for my 08 F-250.

debh

ive already thought of the tail swing john. thats something i dont have to worry about in my work rig. i drive a tanker and my tandems are all the way at the back so tail swing is some thing im NOT used to! it is something ive always kept in mind when towing the TT i just sold.
my thoughts are, the 5th wheel plate is way smaller than a truck. does this make it less stable than i would be used to? does it feel "tippy" in turns?