Do Slides have Locks that need to be released

JASMAR

Have Camera Will Travel
I thought I read somewhere in one of the 5vers or TT we looked at, that a little sticker in the coach that stated "Unlock the slide before extending out".

Does a Sundance slides have a manual locking somewhere in the trailer that I must unlock before extending?

Tom

ziggy

Retired Oregon HOC
I'm not an expert on the stuff exterior on the rigs, but I've never heard of a slide lock needing to be unlocked to open the slide. Is it something specific to Sundance or something added since we bought our BH?

JASMAR

Have Camera Will Travel
Mark, sorry, I was not clear on my message I was wondering if Heartland Products have Traveling Locks on their electric slides? The sign I read was not on a Heartland, it must have been on one of the 5vers or TT that I looked at before buying the 2011 Sundance. We have our walk thru tomorrow and take the deliver of our 2011 Sundance 2800RL, but just sitting here going over questions I had and this one made me think.

OOPS I figured it out right after I made this post: Wow Kinda simple, Just search Traveling Slide Locks and found this link: http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-locks/slide-lock.htm. It appears all it is an expandable Twist Rod to keep the Slide tight, I thought it was something part of the slide mechanism.
slide-lock.jpg

No the Sundance 2800RL does not come with this type of Lock. Maybe someone else will have this question and this helps
Tom

Last edited:

ziggy

Retired Oregon HOC
Its Kristy here.. Mark would probably know the answer for sure. I know that our BH does not have a lock of any kind on the slides. Once we pull them in, that's it until we get where we are going and push them back out.