Exactly how do the current electric rear jacks work?

dennylm

Well, we've made the decision to go with the 3055! (Sorry Sunnybrook!) Still need to get some questions answered regarding options. I looked through the other threads and am still confused about whether or not I want the electric rear jacks since I have no experience with them.

Do they "self-level"? In other words, say I'm on a site that slopes left to right and I've already leveled the trailer as best I can with boards under the tires on the left side, but the surface back where the rear jacks are is slightly more sloped. When I lower the electric rear jacks, will the pads hit the ground at two different times before they attempt to lift the trailer? Or do I first have to make the spots level with blocks where they will hit the ground? If I have to do that, it seems it would make more sense to just go the 18v drill route so I can drop each of them separately for fine-tune leveling without having to first adjust the heights of the pad blocks.

If that made ANY sense to anyone :eek:, I'd appreciated knowing how the current electric jacks function.

Thanks! What a GREAT site!

Denny

cdbMidland

Past Michigan Chapter Leader
Denny, on my unit, the pads go down at different times and can be moved a bit during the lowering process. I love the convenience of the electric jacks.

dennylm

Thanks Chuck (or Saundra?)!

Let me be sure I understand. As they are lowering, when the first pad hits the ground, the system waits until the second pad has arrived before trying to lift the trailer? If that is the case, then I guess there isn't any fine-tuning of level since it sounds like they are just doing their job of stablization?

Maybe I'm making too much of this level fine-tuning? Do you actually try to fine-tune with the jacks or simply stablize what's already level?

Denny

jpmorgan37

Denny;