Winter camping

Grdsman

This is my first year with the Cyclone and plan on taking it hunting in late October. I was wondering if anyone has tips or tricks for camping in the winter with water...or do you just dry camp and haul it in jugs....I am planning on bringing jugs but would value your suggestions.

I've been using my Bighorn for hunting for 3 years now and have never had to add water. Where we go it gets down to freezing every night and never a problem. We used to take water jugs with us but they were never used. Hunt for 10 days shower only when the wife joins us at the end of the week. Used the water for teeth brushing and cooking and flushing. If you take jugs, put them under the 5th wheel and try to find a way to keep them from freezing. Good luck on the hunt.
My son calls it winter camping with guns and booze.

Sandpirate69

I use mine for hunting also, I don't know how much fresh water your rig holds. Mine hold 100 gls., I also run the hose through the waterheater for the extra 12 gls.. I hunt on the Georgia-Alabama State Line. I know the folks at the country store there, since i've hunting in GA for 15 yrs. So I just take a 150 qt. cooler, that i will use for the deer, and if i need water for showering, etc.. I just fill it up & use a 5ft. piece of hose that i use to siphon the water out of the cooler. How water depends on how many days, how many persons, if you take your wife or significant other (ladies pls don't get upset my wife likes long showers, no hunting trips for her). For storage put them under your rig like Big Al said. I think your underside should be heated, so get it close to the underside. Good luck on your hunt. I put 3 in the freezer as of this past sunday. Will return on mid Oct. for Black Powder.

Ivan

Hastey

Oklahoma Chapter Leaders