New to 5th Wheeling and have freshwater tank questions

dgriffis

Greetings, I am new to the whole 5th Wheeling experience and have purchased a 2013 Cyclone 4100.
I have a few questions regarding the freshwater tank.

First, all the sensors for the grey and black tanks seem to work fairly accurately, however for the freshwater tank, the sensors are not good. I know based on other threads that the sensors cannot be expected to be wonderful and I understand for the grey and black tanks why this would be the case, But for the freshwater tank I am a bit surprised that it is so bad.

Basically when the tank is empty, it reads empty on the sensor display. When it has about 10 seconds of water in it it, it reads full. Since its a brand new unit, I would expect it to be better than that. It reads full from then on, until its empty again. I thought at first filling it maybe made a sensor wet and read wrong but it stays saying full.

This makes filling the freshwater tank problematic since I have no real way of knowing when it actually full which leads to my second issue.

It was my understanding there should be some sort of overflow hose or thing in place for the freshwater tank. This would, in case of overfilling, allow the excess water to flow out of this hose somewhere. In my case, the first time filling the freshwater tank, since the sensor just says "Full" all the time, I was watching my watch and waiting for water to come out of some hose somewhere to tell me it was full so I could just time my fills from then on. However instead of a hose starting to drain off water, water just began pouring from all over the plastic shield cover on the underside of my 5th wheel. Anywhere it found a "Low" spot in the cover, it drained water. Since I imagine wires, and all kinds of things are protected behind that cover I would think water sitting in there and pouring out in various places is a real bad thing.

So my questions are these -