Screen door and a 1-yr old

TxBanks

Newbie here! We recently purchased a 2012 26F Trail runner. Before we took it out, we were inside the camper with our one year old grandson and had the outside door open with the screen door closed. He loved looking out - but it did not take long for him to push the screen out. Has anyone put a guard on the screen? Something to keep it from being pushed out? We have had the camper 1 month, and have already taken one trip and going again next week. I know he's going to be trying to push on the screen again!

Nabo

Southeast Region Director-Retired
Yes - you can put a guard on the bottom section that you can get from camping world. We have dogs and decided to add Plexiglas on both the top and bottom section, cutting it to fit in the grooves of the screen door. With a little one, not sure if glassing the door is the best route because we used only small screws in a couple of places (top and bottom) just to help secure it and making it ez to clean but might not be strong enough for pushing from a little one. Sorry I would post the website for camping world but the site is down for maintenance right now.

TandT

Founding Utah Chapter Leaders-Retired
I used a modified expanded metal screen door pet guard from Home Depot. HERE
I had to cut it down to fit and screwed it against the bottom half of the door frame from the inside, so it would be difficult to push out. It also allows a good breeze to come through, unlike plastic panels.
I don't know why it got mediocre reviews, it worked great for us. Trace

Last edited:

wdk450

Here is my previous thread on the subject:
//heartlandowners.org/showthread.ph...e-for-Small-(Grand)Kids?highlight=screen+door

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
We bought a piece of lexan and had it cut to fit the lower screen. I installed it with white velcro on the inside of the screen. It keeps our 100# puppy in and has not fallen off or broken in 3 years.

TxBanks