Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hydraulic Front Landing Gear Issue

1. Print this Post   #1

Hydraulic Front Landing Gear Issue

I just bought a 2007 Heartland Landmark Monticello and have an issue with the hydraulic front landing gear issue.
    As I push the "extract" part of the switch the landing gear goes down, as I push the "retract" part of the switch the landing gear goes down. I cannot get the landing gear to extract (go up). The landing gear is now almost completely retracted, too low for me to get it on the hitch and take to a dealership.
    This is my first time pulling a fifth wheel - I've always been a Class C owner. I did a stupid newbie mistake and drove off after I unhitched everything, but.....the emergency break-away switch....that got pulled out. I replaced it. Could that have done something to the landing gear?
    Thank you in advance for any/all help.
    Steve

2. Print this Post   #2

Re: Hydraulic Front Landing Gear Issue

As long as you can retract the front landing gear you can always get a couple of bottle jacks under the front frame to raise your rig so that you can hitch up.
    If you have hydraulics, it sounds like there may be a stuck valve, or the switch is bad and not sending the correct signal.
    Hopefully someone with knowledge of that particular rig will chime in and have some helpful information for you.

Peace
    Dave
    Dave and Mary
    and C. J.
    2011 Bighorn 3585RL

2013 RAM 3500, CC, DRW, Aisin
    Heartland Owners Club
    Member #1026

Owners Club Membership is now free! Click here to learn more

Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

3. Print this Post   #3

The switch is toast, pull it out and go to an autoparts store for a replacement. Before disconnecting the wires, take a picture.
    If you aren't in trouble or causing no trouble, you aren't having any fun!! And I am having a blast!!!
    How about you??