Char broil - The Big Easy

szewczyk_john

Just wondering if anyone on this forum cooks with The Big Easy from Charbroil? If so what have you cooked in it and how have they turned out? For those that do not know, The Big Easy is a device that runs on propane and is called an infra-red cooking device. It is sold as an oiless turkey fryer. I have been frying turkeys for over 20 years ands this thing is awesome. It gets the same results without the mess of the oil fryer and cleans up so much easier and faster. I will have it at the National Rally in June for a turkey dinner.

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
And you're only a couple of sites down from us. What time is dinner? :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

scottyb

Just wondering if anyone on this forum cooks with The Big Easy from Charbroil? If so what have you cooked in it and how have they turned out? For those that do not know, The Big Easy is a device that runs on propane and is called an infra-red cooking device. It is sold as an oiless turkey fryer. I have been frying turkeys for over 20 years ands this thing is awesome. It gets the same results without the mess of the oil fryer and cleans up so much easier and faster. I will have it at the National Rally in June for a turkey dinner.

I have one and have used it for turkey, cornish hens, and pork ribs, so far. The ribs probably need to be wrapped in foil after searing so they cook more slowly. I think it does almost as good as deep frying a turkey and has the advantage of using dry rubs and possibly stuffing a bird. No more wasting of 4 gal oil, and cleanup is a breaze. Takes equal or less time from start to finish. It will be traveling in the Cyclone this year.

A friend of mine uses his to cook a pork butt. After searing, he wraps it in foil and adds onions and chiles. It falls apart when he opens the foil. I'm going to perfect this before race season.

szewczyk_john