Excessive Noise and jerking with 5th Wheel Hitch

NewCyclone

First off let me say I am new to towing a 5th wheel and actually just picked up our first camper today, a 3795 cyclone. We had the Reese Signature Series hitch put in my bed and when we pulled away it seemed the pin was jerking around a lot in the locking mechanism and making a lot of noise and jerking the truck when braking. Is this normal to have that much noise? It sounds like it is going to jerk the hitch out of the bed. Thank you for any assistance you can give me.

Terry H

Past Texas North Chapter Leader/Moderator
Staff member
Noisy 5th Wheel Hitch

The first place to check is the torque of all the mounting bolts of the hitch including the ones that mount the brackets to the frame (in the wheel wells). Check the installation instructions for the proper torque. Also check the puck mounting bolts. It is a good idea to check them after you make a panic stop with the trailer in tow.

Hitch manual - http://www.reeseprod.com/fitguides/pdf/N30847.pdf
Rail Kit Manual - http://www.reeseprod.com/fitguides/pdf/N30061.pdf

katkens

Founding Illinios Chapter Leader-retired
I would have to agree with TerryH, sounds like they missed something on the install. I would make sure its fully seated in the the four holes properly and the locking levers are pinned together so they don't unlock. I really like mine, rock solid and yours should be also....Ken

P.S Maybe also need brake or brake controller adjustment to smooth things out.

Loco