Fresh water tank fill

fivernine

I have a new Landmark Cape Cod and only on my second shakedown camping run. I find it almost impossible to get water into the fresh water tank (tanks?). In my last visit to the dealer to fix a few bugs from the first shakedown, I mentioned this and they told me I probably had some water trapped in the vent line. Their solution to this was to wrap a rag around the hose and stuff it in the water fill port to build some pressure and blow the vent line clear (didn't actually do it, just recommended it). I'm an engineer and know it doesn't take much pressure to blow a plastic tank this size (two or three psi maybe?), but it should only take a few inches of water pressure to clear the vent so I gave it a very gentle try with no luck, just air gurgling back through the water fill hose. If I let the water barely trickle into the fill, it will slowly enter the tank and I can hear air gurgling back by the same route. There is no air passing out through the vent hose screen so pretty well points to a pinched vent line somewhere and the gurgling in the fill line suggests that it has a sag that is trapping water. Where is all this happening and what is the fix? Can I access it myself? I pulled the panel off in the basement and can see the fill hose heading back toward the fresh water tank, but couldn't follow it or the vent line. I don't mind pursuing it if I don't have to drop the underbelly (had enough of that on the old Jayco). Otherwise its 100 miles to my dealer or 450 to Elkhart.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator