Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

  1. Print this Post   #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    50

    Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    Has anyone run coax from the roof for either wifi or Amateur Radio?

    I have a 2015 BC 3650 and want to run into my entertainment center above the TV. Looking for ideas on best practices for bringing cable into the RV for WI-FI. Many years as a computer engineer makes the remainder of project simple, but am nervous about blindly putting holes in new RV.

    Sure would be nice if manufacturers started putting in cable runs for us. WI-FI is quite popular now, as is solar, cellular antennas, etc.

    Thanks!

  2. Print this Post   #2
    Senior Member etcmss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    USA - KY
    Posts
    159

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    I put my Wifi booster cable through the vent fan roof in the bath. It Wifi antenna attaches to the crankup TV antenna. The cable then runs through the cabinet above the toilet to the area above the cabinet in the kitchen wall. The booster sits on top of the cabinet so wireless access works throughout trailer.

  3. Print this Post   #3
    Founders of SoCal Chapter Bob&Patty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA - CA
    Posts
    6,940

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    It seems that running cables down along side a vent stack on the roof works well. Find one that is close to the basement.
    Bob (Old cranky), Great wife Patty, 5 great kids, 11 grandkids

    Callie the wonder dog (we are still wondering) and 1 crazy cat "Baby" (RIP at 18 years old). Callie misses her Kitty.

    2013 GMC 3500 HD DRW C/C L/B with all the goodies (the grey ghost). AirLift 5000 with auto leveling. 34 gal custom auxillary in bed tank. Spray in bed liner and rubber mat. 16K Husky hitch.

    07 2955RL BIG HORN #5103

    58 Belair 2dr hardtop, low and slow custom.

    HEARTLAND CLUB MEMBER # 1056



  4. Print this Post   #4
    August 29, 2018 porthole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    USA - NJ
    Posts
    10,879

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    On our rig the TV mounts to a wall that backs to the bathroom. That wall has the vent pipes going up to the roof.
    That also means I have a "hollow" between the walls of at least 6" that I can see from a removable panel in the bathroom wall, basement are to the roof.

    We recently ran the coax from a rooftop SAT antenna and will shortly be adding WiFi Ranger and cellular antenna cables down the same void.

    You can see where we used the vent pipes for a landmark in this picture.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Duane & Debbie with Regis & Baylee
    RIP camping buddies Cagney, Misty, my Molly & Gungy
    2011 F-350 DRW

    Rallies & campouts:
    2009
    - 1
    2010
    - 5
    2011
    - 6
    2012 - 7
    2013 - 8
    2014 - 9
    2015 - 8
    2016 - 8
    2017 - 9
    2018 - 8 so far

    Mods
    --- Topic index --- TST TPMS --- SAT TV --- Onan issues --- Hensley TS-3 :-( --- Ramp failure

  5. Print this Post   #5
    Senior Member Bob Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA - FL
    Posts
    817

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    Quote Originally Posted by etcmss View Post
    I put my Wifi booster cable through the vent fan roof in the bath. It Wifi antenna attaches to the crankup TV antenna. The cable then runs through the cabinet above the toilet to the area above the cabinet in the kitchen wall. The booster sits on top of the cabinet so wireless access works throughout trailer.
    Which antenna and booster are you using?

    Wife Sue
    Black Cocker Spaniel Bruno
    Jack Russel Terrier/Dauchhound Forrest....
    Cat Dutch
    2013 GMC 3500 Duramax Diesel Allison Transmission

  6. Print this Post   #6
    Senior Member etcmss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    USA - KY
    Posts
    159

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?


  7. Print this Post   #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    50

    Re: Cable runs to Roof for Wi-Fi?

    Sorry Bob, thought I replied earlier. I have nothing yet, but am looking at the wi-fi ranger. I want to place the equipment in the cabinet above the TV in the living area of the BC. Unfortunately, it's on the slide so I am being very cautious.

    I'm a retired Software/Network Engineer so the rest of the job doesn't bother me.

Similar Threads

  1. no heat, fan runs.
    By fredf in forum Propane Heating
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-25-2013, 10:19 AM
  2. What type of Coax Cable for cable TV and/or satellite TV
    By pegmikef in forum Cable TV System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 02:53 PM
  3. Cable for satellite and cable TV / Internet connection
    By Ralph Douvillier in forum Cable TV System
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-05-2011, 10:03 PM
  4. A/c Compressor runs, no fan.
    By moose53 in forum Air Conditioning / Heat Pump
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-25-2010, 12:18 PM
  5. FOLLOW UP TO: Connecting-Cable-TV-and-Cable-Internet-to-my-FW
    By patrick1945 in forum Cable TV System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 12:48 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •