Black Water Tank Valve Leaking

Teper

Hello Everyone,

I'm a new member and this is my first post. I'm also relatively new to RVing, just over a year into a great lifestyle and my wife and I are enjoying ourselves. I've fixed a couple of problems already by myself, but need help with this one.

I've discovered the valve the is used to drain the black tank is leaking. Last time I drained all my tanks, there was very little liquid that came out when pulling/opening the black tank flush valve. I used the flushing system to clean the tank good, but now it's happened again. I know it is leaking by also, with the tank empty, adding a lot of water to the black tank through the toilet. I then went around the trailer and saw the water flowing in a little stream through the clear elbow I have connecting the outlet to my sewer hose.

I've downloaded the Heartland Owners Users Guide, Maintaining And Adjusting Cable Operated Tank Valves BH 3260EL, which seems good, but rather involved and complicated, especially since I would be on my back under the trailer and don't even know where the valve is with the bottom of the trailer all sealed up. I guess I better give it a shot before spending big bucks when calling an RV repair company. But if anyone has any experience dealing with this type of situation, fixing a leaking valve or replacing one, I would greatly appreciate any insight.

Thank you - Richard

danemayer

Hi Teper,

If this is something relatively new, and it used to work correctly before, you may just have paper and waste jammed into the gate valve. The gate rides inside guides and if there's anything in the opening when you close the valve, it gets jammed in tightly. From that point on, the valve leaks a little.