Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Range top burner lighting

  1. Print this Post   #1
    Senior Member RottsNScotts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    204

    Range top burner lighting

    Hi - when I dropped my Cyclone off for service, I could light my burners on my stovetop just by turning the control to "Lite", it would click 3 or 4 times and automatically light.

    Now that I have it back, it no longer automatically lights and I have to light the burner manually.

    What do I need to do to get it to light automatically again?

    Thanks!
    Janet
    Boomer and Freddie


  2. Print this Post   #2
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    19,910

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    Hi Janet,

    You need good propane flow, and a good spark from the burner electrode, close enough to the burner to ignite the gas.

    Since you're lighting the burner manually, I'm assuming you have good gas flow. But if the flame isn't normal, that requires inspection.

    If you lift the cooktop, you should be able to inspect the wiring for the burner electrode. If the techs were working on it, they may have knocked a wire loose. Also check the placement of the tip relative to the burner. It needs to be relatively close to ignite.


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • Goodyear G114 17.5" tires
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Sailun Terramax A/T 4S, 235/80R -17. 5 Tires
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  3. Print this Post   #3
    Senior Member RottsNScotts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    204

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    Thanks Dan, it looks okay to me but none of the burners are lighting automatically.

    The techs were not working on anything anywhere near the stove.

    :-(
    Janet
    Boomer and Freddie


  4. Print this Post   #4
    Movin' on to the next thing... JohnD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA - AZ
    Posts
    7,227

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    Do these igniters use a 'AA' battery like the one in my CharBroil BBQ at home?
    Yuma AZ

    Heartland Prowler RV Owners Facebook Page
    -------No Prowler Needed To Join! ^ CLICK HERE! ^

    ----Where my Heartland's have been:




  5. Print this Post   #5
    Moderator jimtoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    USA - TX
    Posts
    8,918

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    If you have the standard 3 burner cook top, lift the top and look in the center where you will see a wire that is coming from igniter knob area going to the small enclosed area in the center with a little pipe going to each burner. Make sure all pipes are attached to the individual burner and the center igniter. I have had one pipe bounce loose, and one burner fail to fire up, but never all of them. You should be able to see the spark in the center when you crank the handle to ignite a burner, If no spark, then most likely the igniter is bad.

    Jim M
    Jim and Bette
    04 GMC CC Dually D/A, MaxBrake, Riderights
    09 Bighorn 3670RL #9E011439
    Disc Brakes
    HOC #1003
    Heartland Owners Club Information




  6. Print this Post   #6
    Senior Member RottsNScotts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    204

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    None of the burners are even making that clicking sound they make as they are attempting to ignite the gas so it seems like the igniter went bad...I think...

    I will run it by a service spot on my way to Calif.

    I am thinking it isn't dangerous, just annoying, right?
    Janet
    Boomer and Freddie


  7. Print this Post   #7
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    19,910

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    My igniter operates by turning the knob - one direction creates a spark - the other direction does nothing. Silly question - are you turning it the right direction?


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • Goodyear G114 17.5" tires
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Sailun Terramax A/T 4S, 235/80R -17. 5 Tires
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  8. Print this Post   #8
    Senior Member RottsNScotts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - SD
    Posts
    204

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    From the off position, my burner knob only turns in one direction so that limits my capacity for error!
    Janet
    Boomer and Freddie


  9. Print this Post   #9
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    19,910

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    You must have a different style range. I have a separate knob for each burner, and a separate knob for the igniter. Sounds like the igniter is built into each of your burner knobs.


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • Goodyear G114 17.5" tires
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Sailun Terramax A/T 4S, 235/80R -17. 5 Tires
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  10. Print this Post   #10
    Pacific Region Directors For20hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA - WA
    Posts
    2,924

    Re: Range top burner lighting

    Janet,

    On ours, the igniter wires were cracking and the igniter was then grounding on the metal stove top. If you pull your metal cover of your stove top up, turn off your lights and allow it to be dark in the coach and then turn the igniter knob you will see a spark where it is grounding out. You might have a couple of locations like this. I fixed mine by replacing my wires, however another easy solution if this is your problem would be heat shrink tubing over the top of the wire where it is cracked.

    Rod


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

    Rod and Kelly Ditrich
    Pacific Region Directors
    Retired Washington Chapter Leaders
    Heartland Owners Club
    Member #2336
    2017 F450 Platinum
    2018 Landmark 365 Newport
    2015 Landmark Key Largo, (Sold)
    2013 Bighorn 3585RL (Sold)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Range hood lighting solution!
    By ronovt in forum Interior (DC) Lighting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2016, 09:07 PM
  2. ATF: MPG - Going from C range to D range Tires
    By marc515 in forum MPG - Ask The Factory
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2012, 10:37 AM
  4. Dometic 2 Burner Cooktop - 1 Burner Won't Stay Lit
    By Stan_Humphries in forum Stove / Cooktop / Range / Propane Ovens
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 06:09 PM
  5. Problem with lighting gas burner
    By MD Buck in forum Heartland General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 04:27 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •